Koivun, Valdes named to Final Watch List for 2024 Haskins Award


COLUMBUS, Ga. – Jackson Koivun and Brendan Valdes of Auburn men's golf were named to the final watch list for the 2024 Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel, as announced by The Haskins Foundation Friday.
Celebrating its 54th year, the Haskins Award is given annually to the top male U.S. collegiate golfer as voted on by only college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Past winners of the award have captured 33 major championships and have won more than 400 professional tournaments around the world.
The list of past winners includes Brad Faxon (1983), Phil Mickelson (1990, 91, 92), Tiger Woods (1996), Matt Kuchar (1998), Patrick Cantlay (2011), Justin Thomas (2012) and Sahith Theegala (2020). The reigning Haskins winner is Ludvig Aberg of Texas Tech.
Auburn joins Vanderbilt as the only schools to have multiple representatives on this year's watch list.
Heading into the postseason, Koivun and Valdes have bounced back and forth as the Tigers' leading scorers this year. The duo is both amongst the Southeastern Conference's top four players represented in the latest Scoreboard national individual rankings.
Together, the men have combined for 50 rounds below par, 318 birdies, 15 top-five finishes and three wins.
Voting for the 2024 Haskins Award opens Friday, May 17. All active DI players, coaches, golf SIDs, past Haskins winners and college golf media are eligible to vote. Voting will end Monday, May 27th at the conclusion of the stroke play portion of the NCAA Championship. Visit haskinsfoundation.org to cast a vote.
2024 Fred Haskins Award Final Watch List
Luke Clanton, Florida State
Mats Ege, ETSU
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Jackson Koivun, Auburn
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Brendan Valdes, Auburn