Jackson Koivun wins 2024 Fred Haskins Award


CARLSBAD, Calif. – Auburn's Jackson Koivun added another one of golf's highest honors to his resume Monday as he was named the recipient of the 2024 Fred Haskins Award, as announced by the Haskins Foundation.
Koivun is the first Auburn player in history to win the Haskins. He is the first freshman to be awarded since Alabama's Justin Thomas in 2012.
This season, Koivun has commanded national attention as the SEC Player of the Year, SEC Freshman of the Year and Ben Hogan Award winner. He owns a pair of medalist outings and 10 top-five finishes in 12 starts. The Chapel Hill, North Carolina native has already broken Auburn's single-season records for rounds below par, birdies and top-10 finishes. His stroke average of 69.25 currently tops the previous program record by a shot and a half.
The Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel is awarded annually to the top male U.S. collegiate golfer as voted on by only college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. Past winners of the Haskins have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional wins around the world.
Former winners include Ludvig Aberg (2023), Sahith Theegala (2020), Michael Kim (2013), Patrick Cantlay (2011), Matt Kuchar (1998), Tiger Woods (1996), Phil Mickelson (1990, 91, 92) and Ben Crenshaw (1971, 72, 73).