CLEAN SWEEP: Jackson Koivun wins 2024 Jack Nicklaus Award


NORMAN, Okla. – Auburn men's golf freshman Jackson Koivun adds one final award to his resume this season as he was named the recipient of the 2024 Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Workday, the GCAA and Golf Channel announced Monday.
Koivun is the first player in the history of the sport to sweep the three national player of the year awards — the Haskins, the Hogan and the Nicklaus — and the Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award in the same season.
He is just the eighth player to sweep the three national golfer of the year awards, joining Ludvig Åberg (2023, Texas Tech), John Pak (2021, Florida State), Sahith Theegala (2020, Pepperdine), Patrick Rodgers (2014, Stanford), Ryan Moore (2005, UNLV), Bill Haas (2004, Wake Forest) and Hunter Mahan (2003, Oklahoma State).

As the 2024 Nicklaus winner, Koivun earns a spot in this week's Memorial Tournament on the PGA Tour. Set for Thursday, June 6 – Sunday, June 9, the event will be played at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. 

This season, First-Team All-American Koivun became the first player in program history to finish the year with a sub-70 stroke average at 69.48. Koivun also smashed the Auburn single-season records for top-10 finishes (12), rounds below par (28) and birdies made (176).  In 13 starts, he finished outside the top six just once.
After capturing the SEC Individual Title by six shots, Koivun was voted the SEC Freshman and Player of the Year, becoming the third man in conference history to earn both at the same time. The Chapel Hill, North Carolina native went on to finish runner up at his first NCAA Championship and went 3-0 in match play at the Omni La Costa Champions Course to lead the program to its first ever national championship.
The Nicklaus Award is named for the Big Ten and NCAA Champion who helped inspire and create the honor in 1988. The award is presented to the national player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.